ESTA 常見問答


關於 ESTA、利用免簽證計畫赴美旅遊的許多常見問題,您會在以下找到解答。

法律聲明: ESTA.us 是民營的網站,專門提供免簽證計畫和 ESTA(美國旅遊許可)方面的服務。我們的使命是幫助申請人了解免簽證計畫的各種層面,並提供與申請旅遊許可(ESTA)所有層面相關的資訊。



Q ESTA 是什麼?


A ESTA 為「旅遊許可電子系統」之簡稱,是一種自動化系統,判定來自免簽國家的公民是否被允許前往美國,並取得入境的許可。ESTA 與前往美國旅遊相關,而非簽證條件。申請 ESTA 的過程完全在線上進行,無需印出紙本表格,也不必親自前往美國大使館或領事館。對於曾經以觀光客身分到澳洲旅遊者,會發現澳洲的 ETA 申請方式是相似的概念。隨著科技的發展,如今已有許多國家採用相似的系統,一般都稱為「電子簽證」。


Q 我已經申請了 ESTA,但還沒有收到,該怎麼辦?


A 處理一份申請需要花 72 小時,因此請您耐心等候。然而,如果您非得立即確認,那麼您可以試著發信給供應商詢問。在某些情況下,如果您拼錯了電子郵箱,他們可能無法發信給您。但在詢問前,請先查看自己的垃圾郵件夾或廣告郵件夾。


Q 我已經提交了旅遊許可的申請,但我有地方寫錯了,該怎麼修改?


A 我們無權取回已提交美國政府的 ESTA 申請表。我們無法協助更改寫錯的護照號碼、姓名、出生日期、調回任何遺失的申請號碼、或確認已提交的任何申請表。您可以聯絡您申請的服務供應商,說不定還有機會在被提交美國政府前及時攔截。如果您已經在電子郵箱收到了申請的 ESTA,而有些資訊有誤,那您只能透過重新申請來更新所有資訊了。在您收到批准的 ESTA 申請,您只能修改電子信箱和在美國的住宿地址。


Q 我有免簽國家的護照,那我還需要申請 ESTA 嗎?


A 不一定。若您打算利用免簽證計畫經由航空或海運方式入境美國,則必須申請 ESTA。然而,若您打算以陸地交通方式入境,則不須申請 ESTA。若您打算在美國逗留超過 90 天(針對希臘公民,則限制 60 天),或先前曾被拒絕入境美國,則必須申請美國簽證。


Q 在申請旅遊許可前,我需要有具體的旅遊計畫嗎?


A 不需要,只要您的護照為機器可讀,且您具備免簽國家的公民身分,就可隨時申請 ESTA。來自近期加入免簽證計畫的多數國家護照持有人,必須持有電子護照才能申請 ESTA。


Q 如果我沒有取得批准的旅遊許可,該怎麼辦?


A 根據國土安全部近期的統計數據,有超過 99% 的 ESTA 申請人都會在幾秒鐘內獲得批准。然而,如果您的申請被拒,您將必須到鄰近的美國大使館申請美國訪客簽證,例如 B-2 旅遊簽證。關於如何申請美國簽證,請聯絡我們取得進一步的資訊。


Q 如果在我申請獲准後,需要更新旅遊許可上的資料,該怎麼做?


A 您將可更改目前旅遊許可上的旅程。ESTA 的設計,讓您可方便更新住宿地點,您可以在此更改。在申請前,無需預訂航班或住宿飯店。您在批准的 ESTA 上可更改的欄位為電子信箱,以及在美國的住宿地址。


Q 為什麼需要申請 ESTA?


A 《美國移民和國籍法》(Immigration and Nationality Act,INA)第 217 節規定國土安全部加強當前免簽證計畫安全措施,而 ESTA 為履行安全規定的眾多措施之一。


Q ESTA 旅遊許可跟簽證是一樣的嗎?


A 不一樣,旅遊許可只開放給利用免簽證計畫旅遊之遊客,為赴美旅遊的條件。不符合利用免簽證計畫入境資格者,必須事先申請簽證。若您持有有效的美國訪客簽證,不應再申請 ESTA。


Q 我應該要在多早之前取得 ESTA?


A 您應在出發前至少 72 小時(3 天)提出申請。然而,若您打算去美國旅遊,建議您儘早申請。若您的旅遊許可申請被拒,則必須在美國大使館或領事館申請訪客簽證。預約面試的時段不容易取得,有時候可能需要花上幾週。


Q 如果我第一次申請沒通過,那我可以重新申請旅遊許可嗎?


A 可以,但您必須等候至少 10 天,而且您的情況不得有所改變。請注意,使用假的資料來申請旅遊許可,會造成您永久無法到美國旅行。美國大使館或領事館也無法幫助您取得批准的旅遊許可。


Q 我有有效的 B-1 / B-2 訪客簽證,那我還需要申請旅遊許可嗎?


A 不需要,只要您的簽證還有效,您都不需要再申請旅遊許可。


Q 我還要填寫 I-94W 表格(「綠色表格」)嗎?


A 不需要,經由海空抵達美國之外籍人士,都無需再填寫海關暨邊境保護局的 I-94 表格出入境紀錄卡。海關暨邊境保護局收集的資訊,如今已採自動化電子旅遊紀錄。然而,海關暨邊境保護局仍會在所有陸地入境邊境關卡發紙本的 I-94 表格給遊客,此表格是針對陸地跨境,可經由線上申請取得。


Q 我先前申請美國簽證被拒,那我還可以利用免簽證計畫申請旅遊許可並入境美國嗎?


A 不可以,若您先前申請簽證被拒,則不得利用免簽證計畫赴美旅遊。


Q 我先前被拒絕入境美國,那我還可以利用免簽證計畫申請旅遊許可並入境美國嗎?


A 不行,若您先前被拒絕入境,則必須在飛往美國前申請簽證。您必須到鄰近的美國大使館申請 B-1 訪客簽證或 B-2 旅遊簽證。


Q 我已經有有效的訪客簽證,那我還需要申請旅遊許可嗎?


A 只要您的簽證有效,您都不需再申請 ESTA。


Q 我的國籍不在免簽證計畫的國家之一,那我還有資格申請 ESTA 嗎?


A 這要視您的護照而定。在某些情況下,您可能符合資格,您可以嘗試申請,而且很快就知道自己是否符合資格。ESTA 旅遊許可只開放給持免簽國家護照入境美國者,因此如果您的護照並非來自免簽國家,就得申請美國訪客簽證。針對如何申請美國簽證,請聯絡我們取得進一步的資訊。


Q 我已經下單申請 ESTA 旅遊許可,但不知道怎麼下載。


A 下載檔案的方法有兩種:

  1. 使用第三方網站來幫您找出和下載文件,並要求寄至您的電子信箱。若您在收件夾找不到該電子郵件,請查看您的垃圾信件夾或廣告信件夾。
  2. 造訪美國政府官網,嘗試自行找出和下載文件。

若您希望由我們協助下載您的 ESTA 申請,請發送電子郵件給我們:info@esta.us


Q 我無法開啟檔案,PDF 是什麼?Adobe Acrobat 是什麼?


A Adobe Acrobat 是一種軟體程式,支援可攜文件格式(PDF)檔案。Adobe Reader(先前稱為 Adobe Acrobat Reader)可在 Adobe 的網站上免費下載

Adobe Reader 允許檢視和列印 PDF 檔案。建議您在電腦上安裝最新版本的 Adobe Reader,以確保您能正常檢視和列印 PDF 檔案。您的電腦應安裝至少版本 7(版本 8 為佳),以確保您能正常檢視和列印 PDF 檔案。

下載 Adobe Reader

ESTA Frequently Asked Questions


Below you will find answers to many common questions regarding ESTA and traveling to the USA under the Visa Waiver Program.

Legal Notice: ESTA.us is a privately owned service provider specializing in the Visa Waiver Program and ESTA (U.S. Travel Authorization). Our mission is to help applicants understand the different aspects of the Visa Waiver Program and to provide information related to all aspects of applying for a Travel Authorization (ESTA).



Q What is ESTA?


A ESTA stands for Electronic System for Travel Authorization. It is an automated system that determines whether a citizen from a Visa Waiver Country is allowed to travel to the United States and apply for admission to enter. ESTA is only related to traveling; it is not a visa requirement. The entire ESTA application process takes place online. There are no physical forms to print, and you do not have to go in person to a U.S. embassy or consulate. For those who have ever visited Australia as a tourist, the Australian ETA application process is a similar concept. With technology evolving, many countries are now adopting similar systems and are generally referred to as E-Visas.


Q I have applied for an ESTA, but I haven't received it yet. What should I do?


A It can take 72 hours to process an application. So be patient. If however, you need to know right now, then try and email the service provider and ask for it. In some cases, if you misspelled your email, they might have difficulty sending it to you. Make sure that you have also checked your spam/junk folder.


Q I've already submitted my application for a Travel Authorization, but I made a mistake. How can I fix it?


A We do not have access to ESTA applications already submitted to the U.S. government. We cannot help to update incorrect passport numbers, misspelled names, wrong birth dates, retrieve any missed ESTA Application Numbers, or confirm any applications already submitted. You may contact the service provider that you applied with and hope to catch them before they have started processing your application. If you have already received the application via email, and some information is not correct. Then the only way to update the information is to re-apply. The only fields that you can update after you have received an approved ESTA application are your email and the place of stay in the U.S.


Q I have a passport from a Visa Waiver country. Do I need to apply for ESTA?


A It depends. You are required to apply for ESTA if you intend to enter the United States by air or sea, under the Visa Waiver Program. However, ESTA is not required if you are entering by land. If you plan on staying in the United States for more than 90 days (60 days for Greek citizens) or have been previously denied entry into the country, you must apply for a U.S. visa.


Q Do I need to have any specific plans before I apply for a Travel Authorization?


A No. You can apply for ESTA at any time as long as your passport is machine-readable and you hold citizenship from a Visa Waiver country. Passport holders from most countries that recently became members of the Visa Waiver Program must have an ePassport to apply for ESTA.


Q What happens if I do not get an approval for the Travel Authorization?


A According to recent statistics published by the Department of Homeland Security, over 99% of all ESTA applicants are approved within a few seconds. However, if your application is denied, you will have to apply for a United States visitor visa, such as a B-2 Tourist Visa at the nearest U.S. embassy. Contact us for additional information on how to apply for U.S. visas.


Q What happens if I need to update my Travel Authorization after I am approved?


A You will be able to change your itinerary on a current Travel Authorization. ESTA is designed so that you can update your place of stay. You may do so here. It is not necessary to have a flight booking or hotel reservation to initially apply for a Travel Authorization. The only two fields you can update on an approved ESTA is the place of stay in the U.S. and your email address.


Q Why is ESTA required?


A Section 217(c) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) requires DHS (Department of Homeland Security) to enhance the current Visa Waiver Program security features. ESTA is one of several measures taken to fulfill the security requirement.


Q Is a ESTA Travel Authorization the same as a Visa?


A No. A Travel Authorization is only necessary for a visitor traveling on the Visa Waiver Program. It is only a travel requirement. A visa must be obtained in advance by individuals not eligible to enter on the Visa Waiver Program. If you already hold a valid U.S. visitor visa, you should not apply for ESTA.


Q How early in advance is it recommended to obtain an ESTA?


A You should at least allow yourself 72 hours (3 days). However, if you are planning to visit the U.S. it is recommended to apply as early as possible. If your Travel Authorization is denied you will have to apply for a visitor visa at a U.S. embassy or consulate. Sometimes, appointment slots are difficult to attain and may take weeks.


Q Can I re-apply for a Travel Authorization if I was not approved the first time?


A Yes, but you must wait at least 10 days and your circumstances must have changed. Note that applying for a Travel Authorization with false information will make you permanently barred from ever visiting the United States. A U.S. embassy or consulate cannot help you to get an approved Travel Authorization.


Q I have a valid B-1/B-2 visitor visa. Do I need a Travel Authorization?


A No. As long as your visa is valid you do not need a Travel Authorization.


Q Do I still have to complete Form I-94W ("the green form")?


A No. Foreigners visiting the U.S. via air or sea no longer need to complete the paper Customers and Border Protection Form I-94 Arrival/Departure Record. Information gathered by the CBP is now automated via electronic travel records. However, CBP will issue travelers a paper form I-94 at all land border ports of entry. And the I-94 is for land borders crossings and can be obtained via an online application.


Q I was previously denied a visa to the US. Can I apply for a Travel Authorization and enter on the Visa Waiver Program?


A No. If you have ever been denied a visa you cannot travel under the Visa Waiver Program.


Q I was denied admission to the US previously. Can I apply for a Travel Authorization and enter the US on the Visa Waiver Program?


A No. If you have previously been denied admission you must apply for a visa before attempting to visit the U.S. You must apply for a B-1 Visitor Visa or B-2 Tourist Visa at the nearest U.S. Embassy.


Q I already have a valid visitor visa. Do I also need to apply for a Travel Authorization?


A No. As long as your visa is valid, you do not need to apply for ESTA.


Q I am a citizen from a country that is not part of the Visa Waiver Program. Am I eligible to apply for ESTA?


A It depends also on your passport. In some cases, you might be eligible depending on your situation. You may try to apply, and you will quickly discover your eligibility. ESTA Travel Authorization is only for individuals who enter the United States with a passport from a Visa Waiver Country. If you do not have a passport from a Visa Waiver Country, you must apply for a U.S. Visitor Visa. Contact us for more information on how to apply for a U.S. visa.


Q I have already made an order for an ESTA travel authorization but I do not know how to download it.


A It is possible to download in two different ways:

  1. Using a third-party website to help you locate and download the document for you and receive it by email. Check your "SPAM" or "Junk" folder if you do not see it in your inbox.
  2. Visit the official government website to locate and download it yourself without assistance.

Please email us info@esta.us if you wish to get assistance to download your ESTA Application.


Q I am not able to open the file. What is a PDF? What is Adobe Acrobat?


A Adobe Acrobat is a software program that supports Portable Document Format (PDF) files. Adobe Reader (formerly called Adobe Acrobat Reader) is available as a free download from Adobe's website.

Adobe Reader allows the viewing and printing of PDF files. It is recommended to have the latest version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer to properly view and print PDF files. You should at least have version 7, preferably version 8 installed on your computer to properly view and print PDF files.

Download Adobe Reader: