United States Travel Authorization

ESTA Information In Multiple Languages
ESTA Travel Application in 4 easy steps.





What is ESTA?

ESTA stands for Electronic System for Travel Authorization. ESTA is an online application system developed by the United States government to pre-screen travelers before they are allowed to board an airplane or cruise ship bound for the United States. Since January 12, 2009, any person entering the United States under the Visa Waiver Program is required to hold an approved ESTA travel authorization.

Who Needs to Apply for ESTA?

All travelers entering the United States (by air or sea) under the Visa Waiver Program are required to hold a valid ESTA travel authorization. The purpose of the ESTA is to allow DHS to pre-screen all Visa Waiver Travelers before they leave their respective countries. U.S.-bound travelers are recommended to apply for a travel authorization at least 72 hours before departure.

What is the VWP?

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) is a U.S. government program that enables citizens and nationals from the Visa Waiver Countries to enter the United States for tourism or business purposes for up to 90 days without obtaining a visa. The Visa Waiver Program allows travelers to visit the United States on short notice without the need to apply for a traditional U.S. tourist visa in advance.

Free ESTA Eligibility Test

Only citizens of the Visa Waiver Countries are allowed to apply for ESTA. It is essential to know if you qualify for ESTA before you submit your application. Use the drop-down menu to select your nationality and click on the *Submit* button.

Select Your Citizenship:
ESTA applications can only be made online. You do not have to visit a U.S. Embassy or Consulate in person. Completing the application takes less than 15 minutes on average. Travelers are recommended to print and bring the approved ESTA when traveling to the United States.

Traveling to the USA with ESTA

Visa Waiver Program Countries